Safety Bay Primary has a fascinating history dating back as far as 1942. Please enjoy reading and see how our school has evolved.
The photographs below were taken between 1942 and 1954. The original school consisted of 14 students between the ages of 5 and 12. They were taught in the supper room of the old Bay View Theatre (now McLarty Hall). The photos show some of the early activities that took place, such as excursions to the nearby beach to study and collect specimens, playing baseball and the construction of the school vegetable garden.
When student numbers increased, they moved into the McLarty Hall. They were further relocated to the Safety Bay Yacht Club due to an accommodation shortage. Student enrolments finally led to the construction of a permanent school building located on Rae / Waimea Rds , which was officially opened on November 14, 1952. Safety Bay Primary celebrated it's 50th Anniversary on November 14, 1992. There was an open day and a reunion of past students and teachers. These are a sample of the photos from the early years that were found and put together in a wonderful display.
In May 2007, it was announced by the then Minister of Education - Mr Mark McGowan, that the old Safety Bay Primary School was to be replaced. The redeveloped school was completed in May 2009 with classes commencing in Term 2. The official opening took place on May 14, 2010 and was attended by the Minister for Education - Dr Elizabeth Constable and many notable guests.